“Building and Dreaming” with 40 Some Artists Explore the dream world of space and art at BY ART MATTERS

2022.05.28 - 2022.10.16
On May 28, 2022, BY ART MATTERS opens its second season with the group exhibition “Building and Dreaming.” Featuring works by more than 40 artists from China and abroad, including Matthew Barney, Bernd & Hilla Becher, Donald Judd, Yasuhiro Ishimoto, Liu Wei, Zhang Peili, Wang Jianwei, and others, the exhibition explores the relationship between artists and the art of building across artistic media such as sculpture, drawing, painting, photography, installation, and video.

 

“Building and Dreaming,” conceived by Francesco Bonami, director of BY ART MATTERS, and Wu Tian, deputy director, the exhibition is co-curated by Stefano Collicelli Cagol and Sun Man. The curators arrange these various types of artworks to interact with each other in their respective spaces, thus constituting an inherently organic connection and achieving a temporal transition and content articulation when visitors step into different exhibition areas; and also allows these artworks to set up a dialogue across time and space in the exhibition.

 

Revealing unique artistic vocabulary throughout the artworks’ materials

 

Mexican artist Mariana Castillo Deball's work, Who will measure space, who will tell me time (Gears)? embarks the viewer on their "dream-building" journey. This towering sculpture consists of multiple pieces of pottery fired using an ancient local technique. Dated in different time of production, the parts are placed at random to overlap a sense of time, disrupting the conventional linear narrative. Next to it is Phyllida Barlow's Untitled: Lipchitzplinth2013, at the exhibition entrance. The artist pieces together and gives depth to simple, everyday materials to generate an artistic vocabulary that undermines monumentality.


_SJ10707-HDR.jpg

 

For many contemporary artists, the challenge of creating new media and contexts for existing readymade objects is one of the main focuses of the exhibition "Building and Dreaming." Wang Jianwei's series, ...the event matured, accomplished in sight of all non-existent human outcomes, and Liu Wei's 2015 sculpture Outcast addresses new order and meaning in deconstructing the objective matters. Untitled by the icon of minimalism, Donald Judd, consists of six rectangular hollow metal boxes that convey the artist's signature creative language of "stacks.” Japanese artist Kishio Suga, keen on employing natural and artificial materials, creates a new narrative through his art, materials, objects, and space in his work, where forms and materials engender a new language through correlation and iteration, and past art forms transform anew in the process of repetition.

 

Perspective and Temporal-Spatial notions transform in “Building and Dreaming.” 

 

The labyrinthine exhibition space presents similar curatorial logic by interspersing various media and methods. The earliest dated works in the exhibition are selected from a series of documentary photographs of German water towers taken by Bernd & Hilla Becher over thirty years from the 1960s onwards, showing the connection between conceptualism and the process of industrialization. Yasuhiro Ishimoto's monochromatic gelatin silver print photographs of the Katsura Palace offer abstract forms of time and line. Zhang Peili's Tank, a watercolor-on-paper from the 1980s, presents a distant but realistic scene, while through Feng Yan's lens, the old furniture embodying memories of several generations take on a new order and story formed in their “building,” generating a new context. Such transformations of objective things shape new ways of artistic presentation.


_SJ10773-HDR.jpg

 

The transformation and interplay of time and space are interwoven throughout the exhibition. Matthew Barney's large-scale sculpture Crown Victoria is a destroyed Ford vehicle and a reincarnating body. This powerful zinc cast sculpture is derived from Barney's epic film River of Fundament, created in 2014. Inspired by the story of Osiris, the king of the underworld in ancient Egyptian mythology, through the protagonist's three reincarnations and rebirths, Barney intertwines his personal life story, the myth of ancient Egypt, and American industrial history. Lebanese artist, Mona Hatoum's Silver Ball, is a ball of white hair on a wooden plinth, an insignificant object that spans the length of the artist's life and unfolds the imagination of a long history. Mark Manders' "Architectural Self-Portrait" brings together clay sculpture, still life, and architectural structures in creating a dialogue between objects, language, and ideas in a delicate way, constructing a poetic expression that transcends language and time.


_SJ10947-HDR-Pano.jpg

 

Building with nature and technology, reality and imagination

 

Stepping into the dreamscape hidden inside the building, technology, nature, and imagination deliver a lightness. Ou Wenting's Mind-Wanderer shows a fluffy cloud hanging in the middle of the exhibition hall, from which a submarine periscope extends from the bottom, making people feel as if they are in the clouds and deep underwater at the same time. On the other hand, Adrian Nivola celebrates naive dreams in a series of improvised sculptures that pay tribute to pilots. And Takis' 1970s kinetic sculpture Signal explores invisible forms of energy such as magnetism, sound waves, or light waves as the fourth dimension of perception, closes the exhibition along with Mircea Cantor's video The Eagle Does Not Struggle to Catch Flies, which tells the story of nature's triumph over technology, drawing a powerful and poetic conclusion to the exhibition.


_SJ10991-HDR.jpg

 

From the correlation and iteration between forms and materials to the gradually blurred boundaries between space and objects to the mystiques constructed by blending artistic media, the exhibition "Building and Dreaming" moves between the artists' rational constructions and sensible dreams, in the director Francesco Bonami’s words, “Art interweaves the measurable space of reality with the unpredictable world of dreams.” This exhibition is another way in which BY ART MATTERS - a "third site" outside of work and life and a "first classroom" for cultivating imagination - has made an effort to bring together and present many artworks from an unexpected perspective.



Learn more about membership plan, download the 目里APP

与40余位艺术家共“筑梦” ,探索空间与艺术的梦境

2022.05.28 - 2022.10.16
2022年5月28日,BY ART MATTERS 天目里美术馆将以群展“筑梦”(Building and Dreaming)作为第二季展览的开启。展览将呈现包括马修·巴尼(Matthew Barney)、贝恩德和希拉·贝歇夫妇(Bernd & Hilla Becher)、唐纳德·贾德(Donald Judd)、石元泰博(Yashuhiro Ishimoto)、刘韡、张培力、汪建伟等40余位国内外艺术家的作品,以雕塑、素描、绘画、摄影、装置和影像等不同媒介,探索艺术家与构筑的技艺之间的关系。


筑梦展览概念的灵感由BY ART MATTERS 天目里美术馆馆长弗朗切斯科·博纳米Francesco Bonami与副馆长吴天提出斯特凡诺·科利切利·卡戈尔Stefano Collicelli Cagol与孙熳共同策划。在展览中,多种形式的作品由策展人安排,在空间中产生相互影响,从而构成内在的有机连接,在观众踏入不同展区时实现了时空过渡和内容衔接,也让这些艺术作品在展览中实现了跨越时空的对话。

 


独特的艺术语汇在材料中显现

 

墨西哥艺术家玛丽安娜·卡斯蒂略·德巴尔(Mariana Castillo Deball)的作品《谁来测量空间,谁来告诉我时间?(齿轮)》开启了观众筑梦的旅行。这件高耸的雕塑由多个运用当地古老技法烧制的陶器垒成,这些年代不一的陶器被随机放置,时间在此被错置开来——传统的顺序叙事也由此被颠覆。而与其毗邻,菲利达·巴洛(Phyllida Barlow)的作品《无题:lipchitzplinth2013》也于展厅的开端呈现——巴洛将俯拾可得的简单日常材料进行拼接,并予以深化,创造了反纪念碑式的艺术语汇。


_SJ10707-HDR.jpg

 

对于很多当代艺术家来说,如何利用创作为既有的现成物与客观对象赋予新的媒介与语境是创作的挑战,也是在筑梦展览中所呈现的重点之一。汪建伟的作品系列“…或者事件导致了每个无效的结果。和刘韡创作于2015年的雕塑作品《徘徊者》,即是在对客观事物的解构中实现了对于新的秩序与意义的讨论。极简主义代表艺术家唐纳德·贾德(Donald Judd)的作品《无题》则由六个矩形空心金属盒子组成,传达着艺术家标志性的创作语言——堆叠 在擅长使用自然与人造材料的日本艺术家菅木志雄(Kishio Suga)的作品中,艺术、材料、物件和空间之间的相互关系在他的创作中产生了新的叙事性——形式与材料在关联与迭代中被筑造成为新的语言,过往形态在被重复的过程中自身亦得到转换。

 


视角与时空概念,在筑梦中转化

 

穿越迷宫般的展览空间,相似的创作逻辑也以不同的呈现媒介与方式穿插在展览中。本次展览中年代最早的作品来自贝恩德和希拉·贝歇夫妇(Bernd & Hilla Becher)在1960年代起的三十余年中,拍摄德国水塔风景的一系列纪实摄影,展现了观念主义与工业化进程的联系。石元泰博(Yasuhiro Ishimoto)为桂离宫拍摄的黑白银盐照片,则令光阴与线条以抽象的形态呈现。张培力在创作于1980年代的纸上水彩作品《油罐》中呈现了遥远而真实的场景,而在封岩的镜头中,承载了几代人记忆的老家具亦呈现出由筑造所形成的新的秩序与故事,创造出新的情境。这种对于客观事物的转化,成就了新的艺术呈现。

 _SJ10773-HDR.jpg


时间与空间的转化与交融则作为另外一条交织的线索,穿插出现在展览中。马修·巴尼(Matthew Barney)的大型雕塑作品《维多利亚皇冠》既是一辆被摧毁的福特牌轿车,也是一个正在转世的身体。这件充满力量感的锌铸件雕塑源于巴尼创作于2014年的大型电影作品《重生之河》,以古埃及神话中冥王欧西里斯的故事为灵感,通过主人公的三次轮回与重生,巴尼将个人的生命故事、古埃及的神话,与美国工业史交织在一起。黎巴嫩艺术家蒙娜·哈透姆(Mona Hatoum)的作品《银色的球》由呈现了被置于木质基座上的、由一簇白发团成的球,以微不足道的物件,跨越了艺术家人生的长度,也展开了人们对于绵长的历史的想象。而马克·曼德斯(Mark Manders)则在糅合了黏土雕塑、静物,和建筑结构的像建筑一般的自画像中,以细腻的处理方法,为物体、语言和思想创造对话可能,构筑出一种超越语言和时间的诗意表达。


_SJ10947-HDR-Pano.jpg

 


用自然与科技,真实与想象共同构筑

 

走入深藏于构筑内部的梦境中,科技、自然与想象力为筑梦呈现一种轻盈的姿态。欧文婷的《走神》以一团蓬松的云悬在展厅半空,更从底部伸出的一个潜水艇用的潜望镜,让人们感觉自身似乎即身处于云端,又深处于水下。而阿德里安(Adrian Nivola)则通过即兴的雕塑创作,在一系列向飞行员致敬的作品中,呈现了对于天真的梦想赞颂。而塔基斯(Takis)创作于1970年代的动态雕塑《信号》讨论了以磁力、声波或光波等看不见的能量形式作为感知作品的第四维度,这件位于展览的结尾处的雕塑与米尔西亚·坎托(Mircea Cantor)的影像《雄鹰不为捕苍蝇费力》中自然战胜科技的故事一起,为整场展览书写了有力而富有诗意的结尾。


_SJ10991-HDR.jpg

 

从形式和材料之间的关联和迭代,到空间与物体之间界限的逐渐模糊,延伸至由媒介组合所构建出的神秘情境,展览筑梦在艺术家的理性构筑与感性梦想间游走,如同馆长博纳米所说,艺术交织着现实之可测的空间与梦想之不可测的世界,让众多艺术作品以一种意料之外的视角被汇集与呈现,这也是BY ART MATTERS 天目里美术馆作为工作与生活之外的第三场所与想象力的第一课堂,做出的又一次延续与深化的实践。

 

 


下载目里APP,了解更多会员计划